For Phone Puja Booking, call us at +91 8448288272 ( Mon to Fri 9:30 AM to 6:30 PM)

Know the 9 Avatars of Maa Durga!

Durga is a form of Shakti and is worshipped in different forms. Maa Durga was born when Bhrahma, Vishnu and Mahesh were troubled by the atrocities of Mahishasura and their powers did no harm to him. Maa Durga wonderfully fought the battle against demons and killed the Mahisasura. The evolution of the three forms of Shakti i.e. MahaSaraswati, MahaLaxmi and Mahakali took place from Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh respectively. Each of these three deities gave rise to three more forms and as a consequence, these nine forms together are known as Navadurga.

Each goddess comprises a different form and a special significance. Here are the details of the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

Navaratri Day 1: Shailputri

“Shail” means mountains, “Putri” means daughter. Shailputri is the daughter of the King of the Mountains  Himavan. She is the first form amongst Navadurga and  is worshipped on the first day of Navaratri – the nine  divine nights. Known as the goddess of inspiration, Devi  Shailputri is the personification of the power of Brahma,  Vishnu and Shiva. She rides on mount Nandi, holds a  trident in right hand and a lotus in left hand.


Navaratri Day 2: Brahamcharini


She is the second form of Mother Goddess and is worshipped on the second day of Navaratri. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. She enlightens us in the magnificent embodiment of Durga with great powers and divine grace. She holds a “Kamandal” or water pot with left hand and a rosary with right hand. She personifies love, showcases knowledge and wisdom and is a “taspaswini” roop of goddess.

Navaratri Day 3: Chandraghanta


The third form of Goddess Durga is Chandraghanta who is worshipped on the third day of Navaratri, for peace, tranquility and prosperity in life. She has a half moon on her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. She is charming, has a golden bright complexion and rides a lion.

Navaratri Day 4: Kushmanda


The goddess of purifying austerity, Kushmanda is the fourth form of the mother goddess and is worshipped on the fourth day of Navaratri. Her mount is the tiger and emanates a solar aura. She possessed of eight arms, holding a weapons and a mala.

Also Read:


Navaratri Day 5: Skanda Mata


The fifth aspect of the Mother Durga is known as ‘Skanda Mata‘ – the mother Lord Kartikeya and is worshipped on the fifth day of Navaratri. According to Hindu mythology, she was chosen by gods as their commander in chief in the war against the demons. She is accompanied by the Lord Skanda in his infant form.

Navaratri Day 6: Katyayani


The sixth form of Mother Durga is known as ‘Katyayani’, who is worshiped on the six day of Navaratri. The name holds a very interesting story that there was a great sage called Rishi Katyayana. He was very famous and renowned in the lineage of saints. He wished to have a daughter in the form of a goddess. According to his wish and desire the Mother Goddess granted his request. Katyayani was born as an avatar of Durga.

Navaratri Day 7: Kaalratri


Kaalratri is the seventh form of Mother Durga and is worshipped on the seventh day of Navaratri. Known as the fiercest form of the Mother Goddess, she features a dark complexion, bedraggled hair and a fearlessness posture. She holds a thorn-like weapon in left upper hand, a dragger in the lower left hand and her vehicle is a faithful donkey. She is the destroyer of darkness and ignorance.

Navaratri Day 8: MahaGauri


She is worshipped on the eighth day of Navaratri. MahaGauri is intelligent, peaceful, calm and features a beautiful aura that radiates her divine aura. She is often dressed in a white or green sari. She holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted riding a bull.

Navaratri Day 9: Siddhidatri


Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Goddess and is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri. There are eight Siddhis, they are- Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva and Vashitva. Siddhidatri has supernatural healing powers. It is believed that in “Devipuran” the Lord Shiva got all these Siddhies by worshipping Maha Shakti. With her blessings the half body of Shiv has become of Goddess and his “Ardhanarishvar” form came into significance.

All ideas and views presented in this website solely belong to the original authors and do not necessarily represent the views and opinions of our website. House of God does not bear responsibility for the authenticity, completeness, reliability and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this website, is strictly at your own risk. We will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.

Add Comments

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

बैद्यनाथ धाम ज्योतिर्लिंग :

बैद्यनाथ ज्योतिर्लिंग मंदिर को ही बाबा बैद्यनाथ धाम भी कहा जाता है।इस जगह को शिव के सबसे पवित्र निवास स्थान और 12 ज्योतिर्लिंगों में से एक माना जाता है। यह भारत के झारखंड राज्य के देवघर में स्थित है। इस मंदिर परिसर है बाबा बैद्यनाथ का ज्योतिर्लिंग स्थापित है।मंदिर परिसर में बैद्यनाथ धाम ज्योतिर्लिंग के अलावा 21 अन्य मंदिर भी हैं।

पूजा का महत्त्व:

भगवान शिव के पूजा में बेलपत्र चढ़ाना सर्वश्रेठ और शुभ माना गया है। तीन पत्तियों का संगम, शिव की तीन आंखों के अलावा उनके त्रिशूल का भी प्रतीक है, जो पिछले तीन जन्मों के पापों को नष्ट करने के वाला माना जाता है। हालाँकि, वृक्ष के बेलपत्र तोड़ने का भी एक समय होता हैं। कहा जाता हैं कि महादेव सौ कमल चढ़ाने से जितने प्रसन्न होते हैं, उतना ही एक नीलकमल चढ़ाने पर होते हैं और एक हजार नीलकमल के बराबर एक बेलपत्र होता है। इसीलिए भगवान शिव को प्रसन्न करने के लिए बेलपत्र चढ़ाना चाहिए।

पूजा कैसे होगी?

हमारे द्वारा नियुक्त पुजारी बैद्यनाथ धाम मंदिर में बेलपत्र द्वारा स्थापित विधी से पूजा सम्पन्न करते है।

पूजा सामग्री:

बेलपत्र, जल, फूल।

पूजा अवधि:

नित्य, 10 मिनट

पूजा करने वाले पंडितों की संख्या:
  • पंडित मोती राम मिश्रा 35 वर्षों के अनुभव के साथ।

  • पंडित ललन मिश्रा 10 वर्षों के अनुभव के साथ।

डिसक्लेमर : हम किसी भी मंदिर के एजेंट, सहयोगी या प्रतिनिधि नहीं हैं। हम पूरे देश में फैले पंडितों के अपने नेटवर्क के माध्यम से सेवाएं प्रदान करवाते हैं

इस पूजा को बुकिंग के 7 दिनों के अंदर शुरु करवाया जाएगा।

About the Temple :

Baidyanath Jyotirlinga temple, also known as Baba Baidyanath dham and Baidyanath dham is one of the twelve Jyotirlingas, the most sacred abodes of Shiva. It is located in Deoghar in the Santhal Parganas division of the state of Jharkhand, India. It is a temple complex consisting of the main temple of Baba Baidyanath, where the Jyotirlinga is installed, and 21 other temples.

About the Puja:

Offering Bilva or belpatra in Shiva Puja is important and considered auspicious. A confluence of three leaves, "Bilva" is symbolic of Shiva's three eyes as well as his trident (trishul) which is believed to destroy sins of the past three births. However, there are certain days when one should not pluck the bel leaves from a tree.

How Puja is done ?

The purohits and pandits will perform the puja with proper rituals and right procedure inside Baba Baidyanath Dham Temple.

Puja Samagri:

Belpatra, Jal, Flowers.

Puja Duration:

10 mins, Everday

Number of Pandits performing Puja:
  • Pandit Moti Ram Mishra with 35 years of experience.

  • Pandit Lallan Mishra with 10 years of experience.

Disclaimer : We are not an agent, associate or representative of any temple. We perform services through our own network of Pandits spread throughout the country

Please note it can take up to 7 days to schedule the puja.